Library Love

From an early age my parents instilled in me a love of the library, which continues to this day! Growing up in a small town we were fortunate to have such a great library with so many resources and wonderful staff. I loved the summer reading programs, choosing a book on tape to listen to on a road trip with my mom, checking out the latest “Seventeen” magazine or just browsing through all the books!

I am a little embarrassed to admit that I just got my Calgary library card this year… shameful! I blame this on my book buying obsession… seriously my basement has it’s own library growing! “But you’re a teacher” you might find yourself saying… again it is shameful… but I have had the best librarians who would get whatever I wanted from other school library’s if my school didn’t have it!

So why now… finally… get a library card. A friend of mine recommended I sign up for a singing program with H, so in minutes I had my first, free, Calgary Public Library Card… and so did my tiny baby! Since then I have been kicking myself… what the heck was I waiting for?

I cannot recommend getting involved with your local library enough! We are absolutely hooked on our Rhyme Time program! It has been great to meet new people and get out of the house. I have taken SO many songs from it and use them daily with the little munchkin. The best part… it’s free!! There are programs for all different age groups, not just babies!

Being in a large city, like Calgary, I love that if there is any book I want they can just bring it in from another location within days! in the few months that I have had my card I have taken out everything from book for H, travel books, cookbooks, and novels for me! The librarians are SO knowledgeable and friendly. And I have to say some of the programming they are doing is so cool… from kids to adults!

So if you haven’t checkout out your local library… do yourself a favour and go… now… what are you waiting for?

reading.jpg

 

13 thoughts on “Library Love

  1. I used to take my son to the library all the time before he started school. He always loved it and they also had a lot of great activities. I need to make a plan to go more often.

    Like

  2. I was just telling someone at the office the other day how sad I am that parents rarely take their kids to the library anymore. Its much easier to hand their kids iPads, right. So glad you still appreciate the visit! I can get lost all day at the library! XO

    Anna || A Lily Love Affair

    Like

  3. I loved the library as a child. My mom would always take us a lot during the summer 🙂 I need to get a library card. I miss going in and just browsing and picking out a couple good books. Those were some of my favorite days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

